This is the "Home" page of the "Award Winning Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Award Winning Books   Tags: awards, books  

Find out more about these interesting book awards!
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page

Coretta Scott King Book Award

The Coretta Scott King award celebrates African-American authors and illustrators whose books 'demonstrate an appreciation of African-American culture and values'.

The award is named after Coretta Scott King, the wife of Martin Luther King Jr, and it honors their hard work for peace and civil rights. Created in 1969, the first award went to Lillie Patterson for her biography of Martin Luther King Jr.

The image of an African-American child reading can be found within the design of the seal. 


2014 Author Winner: 

Rita Williams-Garcia, PS: Be Eleven




Robert F. Sibert Medal

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished non-fiction (or inofmrational) book published in the United States in English during the preceding year. The award is named in honor of Robert F. Sibert, the long-time President of Bound to Stay Bound Books.


2014 Robert F. Sibert Winner:

Parrots Over Puerto Rico by Susan Roth & Cindy Trumbore

Go to the Robert F. Sibert Book Medal Website


Colorado Blue Spruce Award

The Colorado Blue Spruce award distiguishes the most popular books of middle and high school students in the state of Colorado. Teens nominate and select the winner - no adults allowed! Current winners and next year's nominees are announced in February with all votes being submitted by January. 


2013 Colorado Blue Spruce Winner:

The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

Go to the Colorado Blue Spruce Award website.


Michael L. Printz Award


The Michael L. Printz award honors the best book for teens. This award is given annually by a commitee that choses a book based on literary merit. In addition to the main award, the Printz commitee selects four 'Honor' books that represent well-written young adult literature.

The award is named after librarian Michael L. Printz who passionately supported yound adult literature.


2014 Winner of the Michael L. Printz Award:

Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick

Go to the Michael L. Printz award website.


Newbery Award

The Newbery Medal honors the author of the most distinguished contribution to children's literature in America. The award is named for 18th century British bookseller John Newbery and is given out by the Association for Library Service to Children.


2014 Newbery Medal Winner:

Flora & Uylsses: The Illuminated Adventures by Kate DiCamillo, illustrated by K.G Campbell

Go to the Newbery Medal Honor website.


Edgar Award


The Edgar Allan Poe Award has honored the best of the Mystery genre, every spring since 1945. The winner is selected by the Mystery Writers of Amercia and is 'acknowledged as the most prestigious awards in the genre". Winners are announced in the month of May.


2013 Nominees of Best Juvenille Mystery

Fake Mustache: Or, How Jodie O'Rodeo and Her Wonder Horse (and Some Nerdy Kid) Saved the U.S. Presidential Election for a Mad Genius Criminal Mastermind by Tom Anglegerger

13 Hangmen by Art Corriveau

The Quick Fix by Jack D. Ferraiolo

Spy School by Stuart Gibbs

Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage


2013 Nominees of Best Young Adult Mystery:

Emily's Dress and Other Missing Things by Kathryn Burak

The Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George

Crusher by Niall Leonard

Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone by Kat Rosenfield

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein


Go to The Edgars Award website.


National Book Award

The National Book award is "a literary prize given to writers by writers" since 1950. This prestigious award honors books in Fiction, Non-fiction, Poetry and Young Adult literature. Winners must be American citizens and are chosen by a panel of 20 published writers who serve as judges, 5 in each of the 4 categories. They recieve $10,000 and a bronze sculpture. 

2014 National Book Award for Young Adult Literature Winner:

The Thing About Luck, by Cynthia Kadohata

Go to the National Book Award Website.


Loading  Loading...